• Kapil Dev to be the first chancellor of Rai Sports University, Sonipat, Haryana
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2019
  • Deepa Malik – Paralympic
  • Bajrang Punia – Wrestling
  • Aishwarya Pissay is the first Indian to claim a World Title in Motorsports, FIM World Cup
  • P.T. Usha – appointed as a member of the Asian Athletics Association (AAA) & also awarded ”VETERAN PIN” by IAAF
  • Cricket Australia has become the first cricket board to announce a new transgender-inclusive policy. This policy has enabled the transgender players to play cricket at the highest level

Mascot for Tokyo 2020

  • Miraitowa
  • Someity (Para)
  • Birendra Prasad Baishya – Chef de Mission for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics

Mascots for Beijing 2022

  • Bing Dwen Dwen – Panda
  • Shuey Rhon Rhon, a lantern child (Para)
  • The third edition of Khelo India Youth Games will be held in Guwahati in 2020 January


  • Augusta Masters Tournament – Tiger Woods
  • U.S. Open – Gary Woodland
  • The Open – Shane Lowry 

Football tournament winners

  • Copa America – Brazil
  • CONCACAF Cup – Mexico
  • UEFA Europa League – Chelsea
  • UEFA Champions League – Liverpool
  • UEFA Nations League – Portugal
  • Africa Cup of Nations – Algeria
  • FIFA Womens World Cup 2019 – USA

All India Football Federation‘s (AIFF) Awards

  • Sunil Chhetri – Men’s Footballer of the year 2019
  • Asha Lata Devi – Women’s Footballer of the year 2019


  • Dravid appointed as the Head of Cricket at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru
  • MS Dhoni became the only second Indian player to reach the 350-game mark in ODI after Sachin
  • Indian Olympic Association president Narinder Batra elected as a member of the International Olympic Committee.
  • England – Winner of ICC Cricket World Cup
  • Most Runs – Rohit Sharma
  • Most Wickets – Mitchell Starc, Australia
  • Player of the match in the final – Ben Stokes
  • Player of the tournament – Kane Williamson
  • USA, Oman attain ODI status from ICC
  • International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) re-branded as World Athletics
  • Sunil Chhetri – India’s most-capped Football Player
  • 2019 Sudirman Cup Won by China
  • India GS Lakshmi became the first woman female ICC match referee
  • Australia’s Claire Polosak became the first woman to stand as an Umpire in a men’s one-day international
  • Mumbai Indians (MI) clinched the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 title defeating Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
  • Saurav Ghosal – Men’s Asian Squash Champion
  • Joshna Chinappa  – Women’s Asian Squash Champion
  • G Sathiyan becomes 1st Indian to break into top 25 of World Rankings in Table Tennis
  • Bajrang Punia becomes First Indian Wrestler to fight at New York’s Iconic Madison Square Garden
  • 2021 Asian Athletics Championships, Hangzhou
  • 2019 Asian Athletics Championships, Doha

  • Services lifted Santosh Trophy Football; beat Punjab in final
  • Meena Kumari Maisnam from Manipur claimed the Gold medal in the 54 kg category at the Boxing World Cup at Cologne in Germany
  • Deepa Malik honoured with New Zealand Prime Ministers Sir Edmund Hillary Fellowship for 2019
  • Virat Kohli and Smriti Mandhana named the Wisden’s Leading Cricketers in the World
  • Saurav Ghosal becomes first Indian to enter top-10 in men’s Squash world rankings
  • South Korea won Azlan Shah Cup by defeating India
  • Suresh Raina becomes first cricketer to score 5,000 runs in IPL history
  • For the first time ever, Bengaluru FC crowned ISL Champions by beating FC Goa
  • Diksha Dagar, 18-yr-old becomes 2nd Indian golfer to win on Ladies European Tour (Aditi Ashok – 1st)
  • Marc Marquez (Spain) – 8th Time MOTO GP World Champion
  • Karnataka defeated Maharashtra to win their maiden Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore.
  • India to host FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020
  • Dipa Karmakar selected as Barbie Role Model by MATTEL

India’s Chess Grandmasters

  •  Swayams Mishra – 62nd Grandmaster
  • Girish Koushik – 63rd Grandmaster
  • Prithu Gupta – 64th Grandmaster
  • Raunak Sadhwani – 65th Grandmaster
  • The Union Cabinet has approved the proposal for setting up of a Centre for Disability Sports at Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh

  • Roger Federer -100th career title in Dubai
  • Chris Gayle Becomes First Player To Smash 500 Sixes In International Cricket
  • Suresh Raina becomes 1st Indian player to score 8000 runs in T20
  • Rashid Khan became first bowler in T20I history to pick 4 wickets in 4 balls
  • Saina Nehwal beat PV Sindhu to become national badminton champion for 4th time

Ranji Trophy

  • Vidarbha claimed Second Successive Ranji Title beating Saurashtra
  • Sana Mir becomes first Asian woman to play hundred T20Is
  • Mithali Raj became the first female player to play 200 ODIs